CORE Network Nashville Announces Nominees for the Inaugural Ignite Awards for Davidson County Early Childhood Champion of the Year

Mar 29, 2024 | News

CORE Network Nashville, a collaborative that connects resources for early childhood educators, is excited to announce the inaugural Davidson County Early Childhood Champion of the Year Awards. The awards consist of several tiers of recognition, including the Davidson County Early Childhood Educator of the Year.

The awards will be announced at a special event held in downtown Nashville on the evening of Thursday, July 25, 2024.

Programs and schools were invited to nominate an Early Childhood Educator of the Year for this event. Each nominee will be invited to apply at the regional based on their location within the county. Category recipients will be evaluated to be named the Davidson County Early Childhood Educator of the Year.

Name  School 
Bre Adcock  Little Wonders Early Learning Center (East) 
Jennie Van Ochten  Stanford Montessori 
Jennifer Hearn  Fannie Battle Day Home for Children 
Jennifer Smoot  Dodson Elementary 
Melissa Hughes  HUM School for Little People 
Teresa Emebunor  Hart to Heart Daycare Learning Center 
Sherrell Farmer  Pennington Elementary 
Theresa Reasonover  Hickman Elementary 
Vivian Dillard  Ross Early Learning Center 
Crystal Bryant  McNeilly Center For Children 
Darren Fuellen  King’s Daughters Child Development Center 
Karen Coure  15th Ave N. Learning Academy 
Kim Whitaker  A New Leaf School 
Lauren Hanner  Susan Gray School 
Marlisa Rhodes  Carter-Lawrence Engineering Magnet School 
Narquenta Garrett  Premier Learning Academy 
Shelia Hubbard  Ida B. Wells Elementary 
William Robinson  TSU EHS-CCP (Mini Rockstars) 
Amber Woodruff  Micah Children’s Academy 
Halee Etter  Equally Created 
Nannette Johnson  Crievewood Baptist Weekday Preschool 
Robin Dyer  Glen Leven Presbyterian Church Day School 
Sandra Akers  Our Savior Lutheran Academy 
Shameka Fentress  Cambridge Early Learning Center 
Taylor Kellogg  Glengarry Elementary School 
Teresa Arteberry  Cane Ridge Elementary 
Tyler Perry  Henry Maxwell Elementary 
Andrea Williams  St. Luke’s Community House 
Bailey Clement  First Steps Inc 
Barbara Dea  Blakemore Children’s Center 
Cynthia Washington  Eighteenth Avenue Family Enrichment Center 
Jeanie Crouch  Harpeth Valley Elementary 
KatySue Pillsbury  Little Wonders Early Learning Center (West) 
Melissa LaRosa  Park Avenue Elementary 
Jacqueline Polidore  Schrader Lane Childcare Academy 
Shannon Skivers 

The Acorn School 

CORE Network Nashville is associated with Raising Readers Nashville, a community group of over 65 organizations working together to improve the systems and structures that support Nashville’s families and young children, cultivating an environment where all children can grow the reading skills they need to thrive.

Raising Readers Nashville Director Megan Godbey shares, “When we think about literacy, we often focus on a child’s formal reading skills developed at the elementary school level. But the reality is a child’s brain grows more during the first 5 years of their life than any time after that. Early childhood educators are some of the most influential people in a child’s education. I’m excited for Core Network Nashville to be giving these educators this important recognition.”

For more information about CORE Network Nashville, visit https://www.raisingreadersnashville.org/corenetworknashville.