CORE Network Nashville Announces Finalists for the Inaugural Ignite Awards for Davidson County Early Childhood Champion of the Year

May 8, 2024 | News

CORE Network Nashville, a collaborative that connects resources for early childhood educators, is excited to announce the finalists for the inaugural Davidson County Early Childhood Champions Awards.

The awards will be announced at a special event held in downtown Nashville on the evening of Thursday, July 25, 2024.

Programs and schools were invited to nominate an Early Childhood Educator of the Year and Lifetime Achievement Regional candidate for this event. Each nominee was invited to apply at the regional level based on their location within the county. Regional award recipients will be evaluated to choose the county-level winners, which will be announced at the event.

Ignite Early Childhood Champion regional winners who will compete for Educator of the Year for Davidson County:

  • East Region – Teresa Emebunor of Hart to Heart Daycare Learning Center
  • North Region – Lauren Hanner of Susan Gray School at Vanderbilt University
  • South Region – Robin Dyer of Glen Levin Presbyterian Church Day School
  • West Region – Cynthia Washington of Eighteenth Avenue Family Enrichment Center

Lifetime Achievement Regional Winners:

  • East Region – Jennifer Smoot of Dodson Elementary School with MNPS
  • North Region – Crystal Bryant of McNeilly Center for Children
  • South Region – Shameka Fentress of Cambridge Early Learning Center with MNPS
  • West Region – Shannon Skivers of the Acorn School at Vanderbilt University

CORE’s other tiers of recognition – Honorable Mentions Winners:

  • East Region – Theresa Reasonover with Hickman Elementary School with MNPS
  • North Region – William Robinson III with Mini Rockstars Childcare Center
  • South Region – Amber Woodruff with Micah Children’s Academy
  • West Region – KatySue Pillsbury with Little Wonders Early Learning Center West

The Beacon Beginner Early Educator Award (for 1st year teachers)
Tyler Perry of Henry C. Maxwell Elementary of MNPS (from South Region)